J. G. Edgar

Danes, Saxons, and Normans

Danes, Saxons, and Normans; or, Stories of Our Ancestors. By J. G. Edgar. This is a sweeping history of the major events in British history from the ninth century AD to the end of the Norman Conquest more than 200 years later, featuring the fascinating stories of the series of Vikings, Saxons, and Normans who blazed their way across England during that tumultuous time.

Read here of Rollo the Norman (“Rolfganger”), a Viking and first duke of Normandy, and his most famous descendent, William the Conqueror; and of the Danish invasion under Earl Godwin, the restoration of the Anglo-Saxon kings under Edward the Confessor, and many others, including the adventurers Siward the Dane, Harold Hardrada, and Hereward the Saxon.

The overview shows how the Normans under Rolfganger forced a settlement in the dominions of Charles the Simple, while Alfred the Great was struggling with the Danes in England, and recounts the events which led to a connection between the courts of Rouen and Westminster, and to the invasion of England by William the Norman. It then traces the path of William the Conqueror’s career from the coast of Sussex to the banks of the Humber and the “harrying of the north.” It also dramatically reveals the struggles for power within the Norman king’s house, and how, after the wars of succession, the Plantagenet house came to rule England.


I: Rolfganger and His Comrades

II: William the Conqueror

III: The Danes in England

IV: Earl Godwin

V: Edward the Confessor

VI: The King and the King-Maker

VII: Matilda of Flanders

VIII: Siward the Dane

IX: Harold, the Saxon King

X: Duke William and His Difficulties

XI: Tostig, Son of Godwin

XII: Harold Hardrada

XIII: The Alarm in England

XIV: The Battle of Stamford Bridge

XV: Philip of France

XVI: The Norman Armament

XVII: Harold’s Host

XVIII: The Battle of Hastings

XIX: The Body of Harold

XX: The Conqueror and the Kentishmen

XXI: Edgar Atheling

XXII: Coronation of the Conqueror

XXIII: The Siege of Exeter

XXIV: Matilda and Brihtrik

XXV: The Normans in Northumberland

XXVI: Cospatrick and the Conqueror

XXVII: Saxon Saints and Norman Soldiers

XXVIII: The Reduction of Chester

XXIX: Lanfranc of Pavia

XXX: Edwin and Morkar

XXXI: Ivo Taille-Bois

XXXII: Hereward the Saxon

XXXIII: Building of Battle Abbey

XXXIV: Malcolm Canmore

XXXV: The Death of Cospatrick

XXXVI: Atheling and His Allies

XXXVII: Fitzosborne and De Gael

XXXVIII: Waltheof, Son of Siward

XXXIX: Wulstan, Bishop of Worcester

XL: Robert Curthose

XLI: The Conqueror and His Heir

XLII: Odo, Bishop of Bayeux

XLIII: Domesday Book

XLIV: The Conqueror’s Death

XLV: The Burial at Caen

XLVI: The Red King

XLVII: Rufus and the Jews

XLVIII: Rufus and the Scots

XLIX: Robert De Moubray

L: Henry Beauclerc

LI: The Death of Rufus

LII: A Change of Fortune

LIII: Curthose at the Crusade

LIV: Beauclerc and Curthose

LV: After Tinchebray

About the author: John George Edgar (1834–1864) was, despite his short life, a prolific English writer who produced fifteen books devoted to English and Scottish history, as well as being the first editor of Every Boy’s Magazine. His life and work were tragically cut short by encephalemia at the age of thirty.

254 pages. Paperback.


Additional information

Weight 11.97 oz
Dimensions 6 × 53 × 9 in

J. G. Edgar

You may also like…